The Football Association have confirmed the reasons why Manuel Lanzini was handed a two-match ban for ‘Successful Deception of a Match Official’ in their victory at Stoke City last month.

The Argentine was charged by an Independent Regulatory Commission after he won a penalty for the Hammers after going gown under Erik Pieters’ challenge.

Although the club submitted written evidence supporting Lanzini after he denied the charge, the player was suspended after the panel, compromising of Gareth Farrelly, Stuart Ripley and Paul Raven, reviewed footage.

Lanzini’s ban followed Everton’s Oumar Niasse who was charged with the same offence after winning a penalty against Crystal Palace in November.

After the player missed the Carabao Cup game against Arsenal and the team’s league match against Newcastle United, it has now been confirmed why the club’s appeal to overturn the charge were unsuccessful.

Lanzini returned to action in the draw at Bournemouth

The panel ruled: “In the incident in question, the player whilst running at speed in the opponent’s penalty area took a final touch with his right foot away from the defender.

“It was at this point that he started to go to ground in an exaggerated manner, which included throwing his arms into the air in an unnatural way, before any contact with the opposing defender.

“In that split second he dived, before the contact from the defender who had in fact withdrawn from the challenge.

“It is not disputed that there was contact but the player anticipated this, dived towards the defender to initiate the contact and in reacting the way he did, successfully deceived the match official.”

Can West Ham beat Spurs at Wembley this evening? Let us know in the comments section below.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *